2008 Asian Science Camp, Bali-Indonesia

2008 Asian Science Camp, Bali-Indonesia


The idea of the Asian Science Camp was co-proposed in September 2005 after the 55th Annual meeting of Nobel Laureates and Students in Lindau, Germany, by Professor Yuan-Tseh Lee (1986 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry) from Chinese Taipei, and Professor Masatoshi Koshiba (2002 Nobel Laureate in Physics) from Japan.


The proposal expressed the aim to enlighten science talented youths through discussions and dialogues with top scholars in the world, and promoting international friendship and cooperation among best young students of the next generation in Asia.


This year a camp will be in Sanur, Bali, August 3-9, 2008. Here is the link.


  • A rare first-hand opportunity for 500 Asian students / teachers to share thought with and learn from Nobel Laureates (in Physics, Chemistry, Biology,Medicine) and other world-class scientists.
  • International annual event to promote friendship and cooperation among best Asian young students.
  • Developing network among teachers/lecturers from different Asian countries.

Participant requirements:


  • High School/University student majoring in Physics/Chemistry/Biology/
  • Medicine, aged 16-22 years
  • Has great passion in Science
  • Good command of oral and written English
  • Will be able to fully attend the 2008 ASC, with leave permission from school/university
  • Submit two recommendation letters by principal and science teacher regarding scientific achievements
  • Pass the selection criteria

Cisauk Farmer

Subhanallah, Alhamdulillah, my twin daughter (both of them) have passed the requirement and eligible to attend this precious event. As a parent, we’re very pleased and will support whatever it takes, since they’re expressing strong motivation to get this entry.


If we’re loking the lectures, they are indeed Nobel Laureates & World-Class Scientists;



  • Prof. Yuan Tseh Lee Ph. D. (1986 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Chinese Taipei)
  • Prof. Richard Robert Ernst Ph. D. (1991 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Switzerland)
  • Prof. Douglas D. Osheroff Ph. D. (1996 Nobel Laureate in Physics, USA)
  • Prof. Chintamani Nagesa Ramachandra Rao F.R.S. (2000 Hughes Medal by Royal Society, CSIR Centre of Excellence in Chemistry, India)
  • Prof. Masatoshi Koshiba Ph. D. (2002 Nobel Laureate in Physics, Japan)
  • Prof. David Gross Ph. D. (2004 Nobel Laureate in Physics, USA)
  • Prof. Myriam P. Sarachik Ph. D. (2005 L¢Oreal/UNESCO Woman in Science Laureate, Physics Department, City College of CUNY, USA)
  • Phyllis Osheroff Ph. D. (Stanford University, USA) Overseas Indonesian Scientists
  • Prof. Nelson Tansu, Ph.D. (Lehigh University, USA)
  • Lim Yow Pin MD, Ph.D. (Brown Medical School, USA)
  • Dr.rer.nat. Johny Setiawan (Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Germany)
  • Rizal Fajar Hariadi B.S., Ph.D. cand. (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Indonesian speakers/ researchers
  • Dr. Laksana Tri Handoko (Indonesian Institute of Sciences /LIPI)
  • Dr. Teguh Triono (Indonesian Institute of Sciences /LIPI)
  • Dr. Adi Santoso (Indonesian Institute of Sciences /LIPI)
  • Dr. rer.nat. Heri Haerudin (Indonesian Institute of Sciences /LIPI)

 Hope they will have benefit and ‘berkah’ on attending it, Amiin.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *